2017 Rotary Scholarship Winners

At the May 25th meeting of the Rotary Club of Tryon, the seven winners of the club’s annual scholarship awards were introduced to the club.  In the three categories of scholarships, four students receive $8,000 over a four year period; two students receive an award of $3,000 over two years; and one student receives the “Ortiz Service Above” Self award of $1,000. The winners were selected after extensive interviews and consideration by a committee of Rotarians chaired by Michael Baughman.  The awards are funded by the Rotary Club of Tryon Foundation from ticket sales to the two annual Community Chorus Concerts.  At the meeting, each recipient spoke briefly to the club members about their plans to continue with their education.  Pictured in the photo beginning of the left are Meghan Mauldin, Polk County High School Guidance Counselor; scholarship recipients: Rhian Alley, Summer Mann, Monica Mills, Jordan Heston, India Godlock, Alivia Swayze, and Lillian Dixon; and Rotary Scholarship Chair Michael Baughman.